Eating on Purpose

My attempt to eat less and pay more.

Healthy Alternatives to Everyday Foods

with 7 comments

I’ve slowly made some changes in my pantry that I feel good about. Here are a few:

I’ve replaced this:

Knorr Chicken Bouillon

(Has about 1/3 of your daily salt allowance)

with this:

Epicure Chicken Bouillon

(Has little/no salt…you can add your own as needed)

And this:

Taco Seasoning Packet

(about 1/3 of daily salt allowance plus a bunch of chemicals and preservatives I can’t pronounce)

with this:

Homemade Taco Seasoning

And this:

Canned Tomatoes

(Contains large amounts of Bisphenol A)

With this:

Fresh Tomatoes

Taco Seasoning Recipe

  • 3 tablespoons chili powder
  • 3/4 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 3/4 teaspoons onion powder
  • 3/4 teaspoons crushed red pepper flakes (I use less because of the kids)
  • 3/4 teaspoons dried oregano
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons paprika
  • 4 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 3 teaspoons sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper

Directions

  1. In a small bowl, mix together chili powder, garlic powder, onion powder, red pepper flakes, oregano, paprika, cumin, salt and pepper. Store in an airtight container.

Compliments of All Recipes

Epicure taco seasoning is also delicious, it just costs a lot more.

Written by hollyck1

August 5, 2010 at 4:41 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I didn’t know about the Bisphenol A in the tomatoes! Is it actually listed? I’ve never seen that.

    rachel joy

    August 5, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    • Rach, I believe the BpA isn’t listed because it’s actually in the lining of the can. This is true of lots of canned goods, but the acid in the tomatoes breaks it down even more, making it one of the worst canned foods for BpA.

      hollyck1

      August 5, 2010 at 5:46 pm

  2. Rach, one more thing. I read a couple of years ago that tomatoes in the can were actually BETTER for you, at least in terms of nutrients. Something about how the acid interacted with the can, or something. So I would actually use canned tomatoes instead of fresh. Yikes.

    hollyck1

    August 5, 2010 at 6:18 pm

  3. I’ve just recently heard about Bisphenol A & how bad it can be. It’s definitely not good for children, but with adults, most of them can take it fine. I still don’t like the risk of it – who knows what the long term effects could be, eh?

    Thanks for this entry & for the recipe. I’m definitely looking forward to trying that! Yeah, making healthy switches is a good thing, & it’s something I’ve been looking into. You’ve given me some great ideas here, Holly.

    margopego

    August 5, 2010 at 7:06 pm

  4. I avoid BPA in everything else, but I have to admit to still using the occasional canned tomatoes! I console myself with the fact that at least I use the PC Blue Menu ones that have no added salt :). I know there is a brand sold in the States (I think it’s Eden Organics?) that have BPA-free lining in their cans. I have gotten a lot of great nutritional information about things like that from the Nutrition Action magazine. Do you read it? If not, I think you’d enjoy it. It’s like Consumer Reports in that there’s no advertising allowed in it.

    Heidi McMaster

    August 14, 2010 at 8:35 pm

  5. Yikes, I had no idea bisphenol A is also in tomato cans. Having replaced all plastic baby bottles with glass ones, this is bad news.
    On just the cooking side – I have read (even in a Jamie Oliver book, I think)that canned tomatoes have the better flavour in some recipes, i.e. pasta sauces.
    Love your blog!

    Birgit Deppermann

    August 17, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    • I know, I had heard that too Birgit (about canned tomatoes tasting better, and actually being healthier). Grrrr…..who do you trust??

      hollyck1

      August 18, 2010 at 3:40 pm


Leave a Reply

