Eating on Purpose

My attempt to eat less and pay more.

Why I Shop at Lepp’s

with 14 comments

Yesterday was grocery shopping day.

The thing about buying mostly whole foods, is that you have to go grocery shopping more often (at least I do). The veggies and dairy spoil a bit faster, and it’s harder to stock up on ‘convenience’ foods.  So, you run the risk of your spouse rummaging through the cupboards whining that, “there’s nothing to eat in this house” (love you DK).

I needed to fill a prescription yesterday at Save-On Foods, so decided to buy some of my groceries there while I waited.  In the past few months, I have tried to shop at places like Save-On or Superstore only as a last resort.

Why? Yesterday is a perfect example.

On my list:

  • milk
  • eggs
  • paper towel
  • yogurt
  • sandwich meat
  • juice

I had a little pep-talk with myself:

“Holly, I know you feel weird about buying your groceries here, but really, it’s not a big deal. No one would fault you for shopping at Save-On. Come on, everyone does it. Plus, I’m positive you can find local food here, you just might need to look harder.”

I stood looking at the eggs for a good 5 minutes. Hmmm….organic, added DHA and omegas, all good stuff. Free run, free range. Packaged in Ontario.  Some packages didn’t even say where they were from. Would I choose local, or free range? Because I couldn’t have both. I settled for local-ish, free run. I put them in my basket.

On to the milk. An older gentlemen noticed me standing and watching the milk. He recommended the Dairyland milk, because “it’s right underneath the organic milk, so it must be good”. Organic, glass jar, but no local milk. Hello?! We live in Abbotsford, home of the ‘healthiest milk in Canada‘. I snuck the Dairyland milk into my basket.

Sandwich meat. I don’t even know where to begin. Prepackaged.  Who knows where or how the animals were raised.

I told myself again:

“This is not a big deal. Everyone’s doing it. And you don’t have time to go to another store. No one has to know”.

I just couldn’t do it. I tried, but I couldn’t. I put all my groceries back and left. Next time I’ll save myself the anguish and go straight to Lepps.

Written by hollyck1

August 9, 2010 at 4:58 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. so what about the deli meat at Lepp’s? Does all deli mean have bad chemicals in it? I’m waiting for your post about what you’ll be sending for A’s school lunch. 🙂 And what happens to your local eating options when the Farmer’s Market closes for the season? (Not being antagonistic, just really wondering.)

    rachel joy

    August 9, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    • The deli meat at Lepp’s is from their own animals. It’s the only place I know of to get local deli meats. I tried Nutrifoods but they have Freybe meats 😦 Lepp Farm Market is open all year…have you never been? Off the Mission Hwy at Clayburn road.

      hollyck1

      August 9, 2010 at 6:45 pm

      • somehow I missed your reply and all the other comments after mine. Yes, I’ve been there and it’s great. But for where we’re at with our family we have to watch the budget just as close as the ingredients. I’m trying to get the best options with the budget I have to work with. When I can get milk for $2.45 a gallon in Sumas, I don’t so much care where it comes from as we go through a lot in our family. But I’ll be checking out their deli for sure. I’ve bought ground beef from them before too.

        rachel joy

        August 10, 2010 at 9:41 pm

      • It is expensive, for sure. That’s part of the struggle – balancing health, conscience, budget, etc. I have actually been surprised though, because I thought local eating would be more expensive than it is. I can’t speak for everyone, but I would say overall we’re spending about the same on groceries. Since I’m not buying many convenience foods (i.e. things in packages), that means we’re left with mainly fruits, veggies, meats, and grains. One trick I’ve been doing is using less meat in my meals – this is a huge money saver. So instead of using 2 lbs of meat in a stirfry, for instance, I’ll use 1, and then use more veggies. That said, I find Derrick gets hungry about an hour after dinner, so maybe I need to tweak that a bit 🙂

        hollyck1

        August 11, 2010 at 1:22 am

  2. My mom has a new (I think) book by Jamie Oliver about how he’s finally started his own garden and there’s a whole section about eggs. He said out of anything to eat local/organic, it’s eggs. I get Cage Free, no hormones, steroids or stimulants from a store in Sumas. I believe they are packaged in Oregon. Certainly not local, but the price is good and I feel better feeding them to my family.

    rachel joy

    August 9, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    • Thanks for the tip Rach! Good to know about Jamie Olivers book…been meaning to get one. What are his recipes like? There’s someone who sells their eggs just down the road from us…I want to check them out. I don’t know how they raise their chickens, but I’ll let you know.

      hollyck1

      August 9, 2010 at 6:47 pm

  3. Where is Lepp’s? Is it a newer store in Abby?

    margopego

    August 9, 2010 at 6:53 pm

    • It’s at the corner of the Abby Mission Hwy and Clayburn Road. You can’t miss it. It’s been open for 6 months.

      hollyck1

      August 9, 2010 at 6:55 pm

      • Thanks! I ‘ll have to check it out the next time I’m in Abby. 🙂

        margopego

        August 9, 2010 at 6:56 pm

  4. Holly, you can rest assured that buying Dairyland milk (organic or not) is local. We send our milk to a processing plant here in Abby. You might be seeing that Saputo is in Quebec, but that is just where the head office is. Supply management ensures that BC producers supply BC residents and the majority of producers are in the Lower Mainland.

    kori wall

    August 10, 2010 at 4:33 pm

    • Thanks Kori, that’s good to know!!

      hollyck1

      August 10, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    • That’s very interesting to know! Do you know anything about Lucerne milk?

      Heidi McMaster

      August 14, 2010 at 8:40 pm

  5. I loved that post! I admit I do a lot of shopping at Superstore, but not for produce, meat or dairy. The few times I have been running out of time and venture into their produce section, I have the same discussion with myself! I cringe having to buy produce at a grocery store instead of at Wong’s, Thumper’s or Lepp’s! I looked at that link to Vitala milk and eggs – very interesting. Is the milk pasteurized? With Russell working at Golden Valley, he can bring home eggs for $1.50 an 18-pack of Born 3 eggs, so it’s really hard to beat that price, and they’re really fresh. They are from local farms, and the chickens are fed excellent diets. However, they’re not free-range, which I would like. Like you said, it’s hard to get both Omega-3 and free range in one egg!

    Heidi McMaster

    August 14, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    • I believe the milk is pasteurized Heidi – I’m pretty sure it has to be, by law, in Canada.

      hollyck1

      August 16, 2010 at 3:27 am


Leave a Reply

