Eating on Purpose

My attempt to eat less and pay more.

100 Mile Wine

with 4 comments

I never really realized we had wineries so close to Abbotsford. I’ll probably never stop buying wines from other countries, because that’s just part of the charm of drinking wine.

But I’d also like to buy local wines and support local vineyards. Especially (and only) if I actually like their wines.

Recently we went for a tour of the Domaine de Chaberton Estate Winery in Langley, BC. It was actually a surprisingly fun little outing, even for the kids.

Bacchus from Domain de Chaberton

They showed us around the vineyard, through their processing and storage facilities, and let us sample their wines.  This all cost us nothing, so to pay them back we purchased a few bottles of wine (well, maybe 12).

The Bacchus is delicious, a teeny-tiny bit sweet (sweetness code 1), and perfect for sipping on the deck in summer.

It tasted especially good with this:

Veggies compliments of Abundant Acres, carmelized pecans compliments of me.

Carmelized Totally-Not-Local Pecans

  • 1 cup pecans
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 TBSP olive oil
  • 1 TBSP balsamic vinegar

Stir sugar, oil and vinegar in a pan until slightly bubbly. Add pecans, stir, and cook for a few (5) more minutes, to desired crunchiness. I usually do a bit less than 5 minutes because they go from perfect to burned in about 10 seconds.

Place on parchment paper, and separate pecans with a fork. Let cool, and add to salad.

The one cup allows enough for the salad (1/2 cup) and for sneaking while making the rest of your dinner.


Written by hollyck1

August 17, 2010 at 8:50 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I LOVE Domain de Chaberton wines! I regularly give them as gifts, and we are particularly fond of Bacchus too :). They used to make one called Ortega that was just heavenly. Did you guys eat in the Bistro? I’m hoping Russell will take me on a date there someday! I’m glad you included your recipe for carmelized pecans – I’m always trying to recreate the ones that Milestones use in their salad and haven’t had any luck yet!

    Heidi McMaster

    August 18, 2010 at 5:35 am

  2. Why has everyone heard of these guys but me? We were so excited to share with our small group from church and every single person had been there already 🙂 We didn’t eat at the Bistro…another time for sure though!!

    hollyck1

    August 18, 2010 at 3:39 pm

  3. Bacchus has been my favorite wine since my best friend and I discovered it back in our nursing college days. It is crisp, with the perfect hint of sweetness, and it goes well with our favorite spicy Thai or Indian dishes. Yum! Here’s to Domaine de Chaberton and their great wine – cheers!

    Heidi

    September 11, 2010 at 12:34 am

  4. You described it perfectly Heidi H! Yum!!

    hollyck1

    October 5, 2010 at 7:35 pm


Leave a Reply

