Eating on Purpose

My attempt to eat less and pay more.

Eating Local in Abbotsford

with 12 comments

I’ve been compiling a list of local (Abbotsford) resources for local, ethical eating.

I’m sure I’m missing a bunch, so if you know of other places, please email me and I’ll add them to the list.

Local Farms

Neufeld Farms – Chicken, free run (not free range), hormone free. Local fruits and veggies from their own farm.

Sumas Mountain Farms – Grass-fed beef, and sometimes chickens and eggs. (Why is grass-fed so important?)

Gelderman Farms – Pork, hormone free, vegetable-based diet, ‘spacious room to root and run’. Their breakfast sausages are just delicious. I didn’t much care for their bacon, but my husband loved it.

Goat’s Pride – Goat’s milk, yogurt and cheese.

K & M Farms – In Aldergrove. Pastured chickens and turkeys, available fresh 2-4x a year (chickens 4x, turkeys 2x). I believe you need to call ahead to order.

Rockweld Farm –  Certified organic and SPCA certified chicken and eggs.

Rossdown Farms – I don’t know much about this farm, but they do sell local poultry and produce.

Berry Farms – Too many to list, but I really like Maan Farms. They have a fabulous petting zoo too!

Wong’s Farm Market – Several people have recommended Wong’s to me for great, local produce at low prices.

Stores that Support Local Farmers/Products

Lepp Farm Market – It’s no secret that this is my favorite store. The staff are super friendly, and the selection is actually quite good for a farm market. More importantly, I love their meat. Most (all?) of the meat, including deli meats, are from their own animals, which are grass and grain fed, no hormones or antiobiotics, and raised right here in the Fraser Valley.

Bakerview EcoDairy – We love the Vitala milk, which is produced at the EcoDairy (4 star resort for cows). I believe the store offers local products, however I was disappointed that the origins of the produce were generally not listed. When I buy produce, I like to know where it’s from, and I couldn’t find that info anywhere on the signage.

They also have a great little ‘petting zoo’ (well, you can pet the animals through the gates) and a tour of the Dairy. My kids LOVED the tour.

Abbotsford Farm & Country Market – A great place to experience the best of Abbotsford!  You can buy local produce, bakery items, and hear some local music, every Saturday.

Restaurants Serving Primarily Local Food

Restaurant 62 – Use many local and sustainable ingredients in their menu. I have only eaten there once, but the food was excellent. I didn’t know at the time that they had a focus on local foods; had I known that I’m sure I would have enjoyed it even more 🙂

Written by hollyck1

August 18, 2010 at 4:12 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank-you for this list, Holly! There’re a great number of places out here in Agassiz, too, but I’m looking to move back to Abby, & so this is a great resource for me. 🙂 It’s also a good thing that I can share with others I know.

    margopego

    August 18, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    • Glad it’s useful to you too, Michelle. I started the list about 6 months ago, and have loved every place I’ve been to so far, so haven’t updated it any further (there was no need to look further). But I would love to hear of any new places you find!

      hollyck1

      August 19, 2010 at 12:04 am

      • Well, if you or anyone would like to know of a few places out this way, please let me know. I know that the list you have here is for Abbotsford & I don’t want to take away from that.

        Ever since I watched “The 100 Mile Challenge” on the Food Network, I’ve been intrigued by shopping locally as much as possible, & it’s something that’s of great interest to me.

        margopego

        August 19, 2010 at 12:25 am

  2. Thanks, Holly – some of those I’ve seen signs for, but wasn’t sure what they sold. That list is really helpful! What about Wong’s Farm Market? A lot of their produce is grown on their own farm, or elsewhere in BC. And they have great prices!

    Heidi McMaster

    August 18, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    • Thanks for the suggestion of Wong’s Heidi! I’ve heard from several people that they really like it there. I’ll add it to the list!

      hollyck1

      August 19, 2010 at 12:01 am

      • Yes, Wong’s. I remember going there when I was still in Abby, especially as a young girl with Mom & Dad & my brother. Great place.

        margopego

        August 19, 2010 at 12:23 am

  3. Great list Heidi. This page of the Nutrifoods Market’s website lists the local producers that they support. http://www.nutrifoodsmarket.com/market/meet-our-producers I like to know where the food I buy comes from too.

    Tracey McKone

    August 19, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    • Ha ha! I haven’t heard people get Holly’s and my names mixed up since high school! 🙂

      Heidi McMaster

      August 19, 2010 at 4:04 pm

      • Gah!!! Oops…

        Tracey McKone

        August 19, 2010 at 11:04 pm

  4. oh really, Heidi? It still happens to me all the time 🙂 Maybe I should just change my name and be done with it?

    hollyck1

    August 19, 2010 at 9:06 pm

    • Sorry Holly. I just looked at Heidi’s name and had it in my head. My bad.

      Tracey McKone

      August 19, 2010 at 11:05 pm

  5. no problem Tracey:)

    hollyck1

    August 20, 2010 at 3:47 am


Leave a Reply

