Eating on Purpose

My attempt to eat less and pay more.

Barbequed Chili Chicken with Homemade Salsa and Baked Pita Chips

with one comment

I wish I had taken my own picture of this one. But I like to think my chili chicken looked like this.

Chili Chicken Kabobs

I was glowing with pride when I presented this dinner to my family last night. With the exception of the olive oil, vinegar, and some of the spices, everything I used in this meal was local (as local as possible).

The recipes for the chili chicken and the salsa are from the Eat-Clean Diet. I definitely don’t get all or even most of my recipes from there, but I am finding it’s nice to have a compilation of recipes that I know include only whole, healthy ingredients. And if I want to cheat and add some not-so-healthy twists, at least that’s my choice.

I served the salsa with Mrs. Palmers Pantry baked pita chips, from Cranbrook BC. They’re tasty, but next time I’ll just make my own.

The chicken was from Lepps Farms, so I know it was raised locally and ethically, without antibiotics, and veggie-fed.

The veggies for the salsa were all bought at Lepps Farm Market (I was about to buy the imported garlic, when a Lepps employee tipped me off to the local elephant garlic…more expensive but worth it.).

*Photo compliments of melodramabab

Written by hollyck1

August 3, 2010 at 2:44 am

Posted in Recipes

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Just a note for anyone reading this now…I’ve made this chicken several times and it’s fabulous. Such an easy, delicious marinade!

    hollyck1

    August 16, 2010 at 3:28 am


Leave a comment